Pillars, Lobi, MFM, Sunshine, others for Gold Cup Tourney


CAF Champions League flag bearers, Lobi Stars, Kano Pillars, MFM FC and Sunshine Stars are among the 10 teams that will participate in the 6th edition of the Gold Cup Pre-season Tournament.



The General Coordinator of Gold Cup Tourney, Tunde Shamsudeen revealed the other teams as Phoenix C.F, Kwara United, Cynosure FC, Remo Stars, Rivers United and FC Ebedei before the tourney’s draw was conducted at the weekend.

Pillars who are defending champions lead Group A alongside two debutant Phoenix ASC and Cynosure FC. Kwara United and Remo Stars make up the five teams.

Lobi Stars and Mountain of Fire and Miracles Ministries FC who were crowned champions and runner-up in 2016 will be having their hands full against Sunshine Stars, FC Ebedei and Rivers United.

The country’s best organised pre-season mini league will be held in Ado Ekiti, capital of Ekiti State from Thursday November 15 through Saturday November 24, 2018.

The Gold Cup Pre-season Tournament is sponsored by distinguished Senator of the Federal Republic, Dr. Buhari Abdul-Fatai (BAF), and proudly supported by Nigeria Football Federation Executive Committee Member, Alhaji Ahmed Yusuf Fresh, foremost betting company, Bet9ja, Nigeria leading sportswear firm, ‘Owu’, Play Sportswear, Ekiti State Football Association, Seyi Akinwunmi Foundation, Sportspro, New-Bell Global Investment, 11th Media Global Concept, and Phreestyle Sports.

Group A
Kano Pillars
Kwara United
Rivers United
Remo Stars

Group B
Lobi Stars
Cynosure FC
Sunshine Stars
FC Ebedei


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here