NFF Committee orders that Super 8 must go ahead


The Emergency Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation, chaired by the President of NFF, Mr. Amaju Melvin Pinnick, concluded from a meeting at the weekend to announce that it had directed the go-ahead of the Super 8 Tournament of the Nigeria National League to produce four teams to be promoted to the Nigeria Professional Football League for the 2018/2019 Season.

The meeting was a vast one with the chieftains of the NFF, the LMC, the NPFL Clubs, the NNL and NNL Clubs present .

 The rule book was used stating that the NNL should stage its statutory Super 8 to produce the four teams for NPFL.

The NFF Committee said it took the decision after careful consideration of the relevant rules and regulations, contemporary best practice and what is obtainable and defensible in the international sphere.

The Committee hence directed that teams contesting the Super 8 Tournament, scheduled for Aba, should arrive the Abia State capital on Wednesday, 19th December, and the tournament must be concluded by Sunday, 23rd December for the Nigeria National League to present teams to the Nigeria Professional Football League for the new season.

The Super 8 Tournament must go ahead with all the teams arriving on or before Wednesday, 19th December.

 The enjoin all the eight qualified teams to endeavour to be in Aba for this tournament, in order to ensure that the LMC has the names of the four teams promoted from the NNL, and go ahead to conduct its draws for the new season.

 The Committee also directed that the NNL must proceed with the tournament as scheduled with the Clubs that report to Aba while stating that disciplinary action would be taken against those who fail to honour their obligations to participate in the Super 8 and the directives of the NFF.

“At the same time, the League Management Company must make best efforts to ensure that all parameters, processes and procedures are set to commence the new Nigeria Professional Football League season before the first day of January, 2019.”

Gombe United FC, Remo Stars FC, Shooting Stars Sports Club, Bendel Insurance FC, Delta Force FC, Kada Stars FC, Real Stars FC and Kogi United are the teams qualified for the NNL Super 8 Tournament.

Members commended the NFF President for the tremendous efforts he made to meet with the NNL leadership, the eight NNL Clubs qualified to participate in the Super 8 as well as the proprietors of the Clubs with a view to explaining to them the need to stage the tournament.

It is known that Delta Force, Real Stars and Gombe united arrived Aba  before the emergency meeting was held.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here