We will attack the Banyana Banyana


The defending Champions of the AWCON Super Falcons of Nigeria will be repeating history for a ninth today against the team who shocked them in the group stage Banyana Banyana of South Africa.

This will be a repeat of the 2000 final, which Nigeria won the Banyana Banyana 2-0  in  Johannesburg.

Coach Thomas Dennerby and captain Onome Ebi have spoken of high level of optimism and strong determination in the team to extend their consistent dominance in the continental championship.

In 20 years of its existence, champions Nigeria have dominated the AWCON with only Equatorial Guinea breaking their clean sweep on only two occasions, while Mercy Akide, Perpetua Nkwocha (on four occasions), Desire Oparanozie and Asisat Oshoala emerging top scorers at different championships.

Oparanozie and Oshoala will be in action tomorrow, while the Falcons new heroine and goalkeeper Tochukwu Oluehi, who stopped the penalty kick of Cameroon star Gaelle in the semifinal penalty shoot out, will motivate the team’s confidence that has been boosted with a promise of $10,000-a-player to win this clash by the Federation .

Experience is a great advantage standing on the side of the girls as the engage in a fierce battle against their rival South Africa.

Kick-off time is 5pm today at the Accra Sports Stadium.


1998: Nigeria 2 Ghana 0 (Abeokuta)

2000: South Africa 0 Nigeria 2 (Johannesburg)

2002: Nigeria 2 Ghana 0 (Warri)

2004: Nigeria 5 Cameroon 0 (Johannesburg)

2006: Nigeria 1 Ghana 0 (Warri)

2008: Equatorial Guinea 2 South Africa 1 (Malabo)

2010: Nigeria 4 Equatorial Guinea 2 (Johannesburg)

2012: Equatorial Guinea 4 South Africa 0 (Malabo)

2014: Nigeria 2 Cameroon 0 (Windhoek)

2016: Cameroon 0 Nigeria 1 (Yaounde)

2018: Nigeria Vs South Africa (Accra)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here