Pinnick Happy To Pick CAF’s Best Team Award


Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) president, Amaju Melvin Pnnick has stated delight with with picking the award for African Team of The Year on Tuesday in Dakar, Senegal, reports.

Pinnick was presented with the award plaque by Super Falcons’ former striker, Perpetua Nkwocha, who is the only four-time straight back-to-back winner of African Women Footballer of The Year award.

Nkwocha, who is the immediate past top scorer of the nine time African champions, had the pleasure of presenting to Pinnick the CAF Women’s National Team of the Year 2018.

While noting that it was the fourth time the Falcons would pick up the same title, following earlier wins in 2010, 2014 and 2016, Pinnick said he was equally elated to collect the prize from a Nigerian African legend.

Pinnick was also excited that, for the second year running, the event for rewarding top soccer performers from Africa was bankrolled by Nigeria’s leading energy solution company, AITEO, which is also Official Optimum Partner of the NFF.

For the event, two heads of government, President George Weah of Liberia and Macky Sall of Senegal turned up, joined by FIFA president Gianni Infantino and CAF president, Ahmad Ahmad.

Also present was FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura (a Senegalese), CAF second vice-president, Constant Omari and third vice-president, Fouzi Lekjaa, among several others.

There was also the full complement of the membership of CAF Executive Committee, legends of the game from across the continent, members of the diplomatic corps and world renowned artistes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here