NWFL Super 4: Bayelsa Queens breaks 12-year jinx to win 2018 NWFL title.

Photo credit : The Guardian Nigeria

Bayelsa Queens have emerged winners of the 2018 Nigeria Women Football League after beating defending champions Nasarawa Amazons 2 – 0 in the final decided at the Soccer Temple Agege stadium in Lagos on Sunday.

The ladies from Yenagoa who came into the game as underdogs controlled the tempo of the game from the blast of the whistle and scored their first goal of the game at the start of the second half through Igwe Izoamake in the 47th minute before Bokiri Joy in the 62nd minute put the game to rest.

Bayelsa Queens defeated Sunshine Queens of Akure by a goal to nil in the first game of the competition on Friday to book the final ticket against the Amazons who beat Rivers Angels in their first match 5 – 4 on penalties.

Bayelsa Queens last won the NWFL back in 2007 under the tutelage of former Super Falcons coach Rolandson Odey and have since waited 12 years before getting their hands on the trophy. With the win, Bayelsa Queens have won the Women title five times.

In the third place match decided earlier in the day, Sunshine Queens beat Aiteo Cup champions Rivers Angels 1  – 0 to take the third position of the game.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here