Major Injury setback for Asante Kotoko ahead Pillars clash


Asante Kotoko head coach, Kjetil Zachariassen has named a 23-man squad ahead of their CAF Champions League opener Against Nigerian football giant, Kano Pillars this weekend.

Kotoko will slug it out against Pillars in the preliminary round of the competition on Sunday August 10, but have gathered that the Ghanaian side will be without several key players.


Maxwell Baakoh, Abdul Ganiyu and Richard Senanu failed to make the squad due to injuries.


Also, Abdul Fatawu Safiu and Songne Yacouba were also not included in the list for the first leg tie.


According to reports in Ghana, Zachariassen will pruned his squad to 18 players after their final preparations in Accra.


The team is scheduled to arrive Nigeria on Thursday.

Full List of 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Felix Annan, Kwame Baah, Osei Kwame.


Defenders: Samuel Frimpong, Empem Dacosta, Augustine Sefah, Evans Owusu, Patrick Yeboah, Stephen Ayiku Tetteh, Habib Mohammed, Wahab Adams, Emmanuel Agyemang Badu.


Midfielders: Alexis Didi, Justice Blay, Jordan Opoku, Kelvin Andoh, Augustine Okrah, Emmanuel Gyamfi, Godfred Asiamah, Martin Antwi.


Strikers: George Abege, Richard Arthur and Naby Keita.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here