Ighalo, Balogun, Omeruo, Onazi Out Of Liberia Friendly


Super Eagles technical adviser, Gernot Rohr has called up four home-based players for Tuesday’s international friendly against Liberia, with Odion Jude Ighalo, Leon Aderemi Balogun, Eddy Ogenyi Onazi, and Kenneth Omeruo all excused from the encounter.

Also excluded alongside Ighalo, Omeruo, Balogun and Onazi, who all starred in Saturday’s Africa Cup of Nations 3-0 victory away to Seychelles is first choice goalkeeper, Francis Odinaka Uzoho.

Saturday’s victory gave the Eagles three points in the race to AFCON 2019, and wiped out their two-oal deficit from the loss to South Africa on Matchday 1.

Victory over Libya in Kaduna on 10th October would brighten Nigeria’s chances for a place at Cameroon 2019, ahead of which Rohr has opted to leave out some of his key players from Tuesday’s friendly in Monrovia.

In place of all five, Enyimba of Aba captain, Mfon Udoh and three other home-based stars have been included in the Eagles’ list, which already had his club’s goalkeeper, Ikechukwu Ezenwa for Saturday’s game in Seychelles.

Joining them on the flight to Monrovia are two defenders, Adeleye Olamilekan from FC IfeanyiUbah and Ebube Duru of Lobi Stars, as well as Enyimba forward, Sunday Adetunji.

Apart from Ezenwa, who travelled with the team to Seychelles for Saturday’s qualifier against The Pirates, the other home-based players have been directed to report at Lagos Sheraton Hotel on Monday, latest 3pm.

Ezenwa and 13 other players will fly into Lagos from Addis Ababa same day, after which the contingent will fly to Monrovia same night aboard Arik Air.

The match, which is in celebration of Liberia’s president, former world footballer of the year, George Opong Weah, is scheduled for Tuesday evening at Samuel Kanyon Doe Sports Complex, Monrovia.

Nigeria’s full list for the game has two goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); and five defenders: Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Adeleye Olamilekan (FC IfeanyiUbah); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Ebube Duru (Lobi Stars)

Also listed are five midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England); John Ugochukwu Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Kelechi Nwakali (FC Porto, Portugal); and Joel Chukwuma Obi (AC Chievo Verona, Italy)

The list is completed by six forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo ‘Simy’ (Crotone, Italy); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray, Turkey); Sunday Adetunji (Enyimba); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux, France); and Mfon Udoh (Enyimba).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here