FIFA Confirm Eagles’ Players’ Jersey Numbers


Global football governing body, FIFA on Monday rolled out confirmations of the jersey numbers each player in the Super Eagles will don for this year’s World Cup in Russia.

The numeration follows the release of Nigeria’s release on Sunday of the Eagles’ final list of 23 players for the global soccer showpiece, without any unexpected exclusion in the roster.

Though a couple of changes appear in the choice of numbers for particular players, most of the Eagles’ stars retain their now traditional preferences, such that team captain, John Mikel Obi will don No.10 for the competition, which begins next Thursday in Moscow.

Down the line, Eagles’ new choice goalkeeper, Francis Odinaka Uzoho will line out in jersey number 23, while Leicester City midfielder, Wilfred Onyinyen Ndidi goes for No.4.

Ndidi, who takes the number worn by Kenneth Omeruo all through the qualifiers, is one of two players who had their numbers changed, whilst Joel Obi takes the Jersey number 15 vacated by the injured Moses Simon.

Bryan Idowu, who wore Jersey number 2 against England on Saturday, retains the number after Ola Aina was dropped from the list to Russia early Sunday, while Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo gets number 13 jersey vacated by Ndidi.

The Eagles’ jersey numbers’ rundown is as follow:
1. Ikechukwu Ezenwa

2. Bryan Idowu

3. Elderson Echiejile

4. Wilfred Ndidi

5. William Troost-Ekong

6. Leon Balogun

7. Ahmed Musa

8. Oghenekharo Etebo

9. Odion Ighalo

10. John Obi Mikel

11. Victor Moses

12. Abdullahi Shehu

13. Simeon Nwankwo

14. Kelechi Iheanacho

15. Joel Obi

16. Daniel Akpeyi

17. Ogenyi Onazi

18. Alex Iwobi

19. John Ogu

20. Chidozie Awaziem

21. Tyrone Ebuehi

22. Kenneth Omeruo

23. Francis Uzoho


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here