Falcons Rate Among Women World Cup Trailblazers


Nigeria’s female national team, Super Falcons entered Saturday’s draw for the 8th FIFA Women’s World Cup with a strong historical presence, as they were on the spotlight as one of seven teams that have been to every edition of the global showpiece.

Footballlive.ng can report that Nigeria and the other six pioneer participants in all previous seven editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup have also qualified for France 2019.

Nigeria attended all previous editions of the competition in China (1991), Sweden (1995),USA (1999 and 2003), China (2007), Germany (2011) and Canada (2015).

The Falcons, who reached the quarter finals at USA ’99, join the other trailblazers Brazil, United States of America, Germany, Sweden, Norway and Japan.

The nine time African champions and current holders will represent the continent at France 2019 alongside South Africa (runners-up of the 11th AWCON that ended in Ghana last weekend) and Cameroon (who finished third).

They are joined by Australia, China, Japan, Korea Republic and Thailand, as well as Canada, USA and Jamaica from North America.

Others are Argentina, Brazil and Chile from South America, New Zealand from Oceania, as well as England, France, Germany, Italy, Holland, Norway, Scotland, Spain and Sweden from Europe.

France 2019 will hold in nine cities of Grenoble, Le Havre, Lyon, Montpellier, Nice, Paris, Reims, Rennes and Valenciennes.

The opening match will hold at the impressive Parc des Princes in Paris (which was also a venue for the 1998 FIFA World Cup), while the semi-finals and final matches will be played in Lyon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here