Dennerby Outlines Four Phases For Falcons


Female national team, Super Falcons coach, Thomas Dennerby has outlined four phases of camping for the squad, heading into their African Women Nations Cup qualifier against Gambia, in order to knock the players into proper shape.

In a move to also ensure he picks only the best players for next month’s home and away fixtures against the Gambians, Dennerby has put in place an elaborate programme that will see the team open camp on Thursday in Abuja and go on break three times.

The first phase will run from May 9 to 15, after which they will also be in camp from May 17 to 22, May 24 to June 1 and finally from June 2 to 12, which would involve only players listed to battle the Gambians.

Dennerby has called up 26 players, including overseas –based defender Ngozi Ebere, to resume camp at the Serob Legacy Hotel, Wuye, Abuja on Thursday, 10th May 2018.
The two-leg fixture will take place between 4th – 12th June, with the Gambians hosting the opening leg in Banjul. The Nigeria Football Federation has chosen Monday 11th June for the concluding leg in Nigeria.

Victory over two legs against the Gambians, who eliminated Burkina Faso in the preliminary stage, will send eight –time champions Nigeria to the 11th Women Africa Cup of Nations finals in Ghana later this year.

THE INVITED PLAYERS – Goalkeepers: Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Chioma Nwankwo (Nasarawa Amazons)
Defenders: Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC Women, Cyprus); Emmanuella Ingenue (Pelican Stars); Rebecca Ajiga (Edo Queens); Gineka Ikeh (Bayelsa Queens); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons); Joy Jegede (Bayelsa Queens); Mariam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons); Maureen Okpalla (Confluence Queens)
Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Osas Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens); Goodness Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens); Patience Agbokade (Sunshine Queens); Orjiugo Godson (Abia Angels); Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels); Ogechi Ukwuoma (Pelican Stars)
Forwards: Chinaza Uchendu (Rivers Angels); Joy Jerry (Bayelsa Queens); Tessy Biahwo (Bayelsa Queens); Ijeoma Obi (Bayelsa Queens); Zainab Olapade (Jokodolu Babes); Glory Oshaghe (Confluence Queens); Nneka Julius (Edo Queens)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here