Delta Queens Crowned NWFL Champions


Delta Queens have won the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Premiership title for the first time in 12 years, after a 2-1 victory over defending champions, Bayelsa Queens in the final of the Championship Playoffs, at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba.

The game came into life after Chioma Henry turned the ball into her own net inside the opening 14 minutes to give Bayelsa Queens the lead.



But, Delta Queens had the opportunity to equalize from the penalty spot but Fehintola Mabokanje missed, as the half ended.

Delta Queens rallied back in the second half, Chinaza Agoh’s brace in the 67th and 86th minute ensured the team maintained their 16 games unbeaten run and also claimed the NWFL title.

The win also ensured Delta Queens will represent Nigeria at the 2023 WAFU-B Zonal Qualifiers for the Women’s Champions League.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here