CAF Awards: Osimhen makes Final Shortlist


Victor Osimhen has been named in a 10-player shortlist that includes Yassine Bounou, Achraf Hakimi and Riyad Mahrez, for the CAF Men’s Player of the year award.

Osimhen, who won the Scudetto and also claimed the golden boot in the Serie A last season, is Nigeria’s only nominee on the list that has 4 Moroccans, 2 Cameroonians, 1 Egyptian, 1 Senegalese, 1 Algerian.


The Forward is hoping to become the first Nigerian to win the honor since Kanu Nwankwo in 1999.

In a post on Friday, CAF reeled out the names of the players competing for the top honor in several categories of the Award, which will be decided later this month in Morocco.

Other shortlisted nominees in the Men’s Player Award category are:

Mohamed Salah
Frank Anguissa
Vincent Aboubakar
Sadio Mane
Riyad Mahrez
Yassine Bounou
Sofyan Amrabat
Youssef En-Nesyri
Achraf Hakimi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here