Akpeyi, Ogu left out of Super Eagles friendly to face Shevchenko’s Ukraine


The 23 man list released on Wednesday by Technical adviser Gernot Rohr sent shivers down the spines of some Nigerians after two members of the Bronze winning Africa Cup of Nations were not included for the friendly against Ukraine at Dnipro Arena on September 10, 2019.

Goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi as well as Midfielder John Ogu were not invited for the friendly, sending signals that they might have played their last game for the Eagles.


Though Gernot Rohr is yet to talk about the reasons behind their exclusion.


There were debut call ups for Germany based Goalkeeper Maduka Okoye and Scotland based Midfielder Joe Aribo.


Tyrone Ebuehi, Kelechi Iheanacho and Semi Ajayi have also returned to the fold.


Invited Players:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Athletic Club Omonia Nicosia, Greece) Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Emil Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)


Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Benfica, Portugal); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Troost Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Joe Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)


Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al-Nassr FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (AS Monaco, France); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here