Ahmed Musa slams BBC Award for snubbing Eagles players.


Super Eagles stand in Captain Ahmed Musa has slammed the BBC for failing to include any Nigerian in the list of the 2018 prestigious BBC African footballer of the year award.

The BBC awards which started as the African sports personality award before it was renamed as the African footballer of the year award failed to include any Nigerian player in its 2018 player of the year edition.

The top five players listed by BBC for the 2018 edition include; Mohammed Salah of Liverpool, Thomas Patey of Atletico Madrid, Sadio Mane of Liverpool, Kalidou Koulibaly of Napoli and Medhi Benatia of Juventus.

After seeing the list Musa could not his disappointment. “For me, I saw the list and I feel unhappy because the players on the list did not even do up to what we did at the World Cup in Russia so It’s politics. We don’t have to think about that but as you can see a lot of players are coming up in the team and I hope they will do well and get their name on the CAF Awards list.”

Since the inception of the BBC Sports Personality Award/ African Footballer of the Year Award in 1992, only three Nigerian players have won the individual award.

1996: Emmanuel Amunike. Nigeria and Sporting (Portugal), Barcelona (Spain).

1997: Kanu Nwankwo. Nigeria and Inter Milan (Italy)

1999: Kanu Nwankwo. Nigeria and Arsenal (England)

2003: Jay Jay Okocha. Nigeria and Bolton Wanderers (England)

2004: Jay Jay Okocha. Nigeria and Bolton Wanderers (England)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here