AFCON Cameroon 2021: CAF Roll out date, venue for Draw


CAF on Sunday announced the draw for the qualifying round of the 2021 African cup of Nations, can report.

In a statement on its website, the draw will take place on Thursday, 18 July 2019 at the Aida Ballroom_Cairo Marriott Hotel, Zamalek on the week of the 32nd CAF General Assembly.


The 2021 AFCON will be staged in Cameroon and according to a note from the confederation the teams engaged in the qualifiers have been seeded into five levels, according to the FIFA official ranking issued on the 14th of June 2019.


African giants including host Cameroon as well as Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, DR Congo, Nigeria, Ghana, Egypt, Burkina Faso, Mali, Ivory coast, and Algeria, are seeded in pot 1 (level 1)


Pot 2 consist of medium rank teams like Guinea, South Africa, Cape Vert, Uganda, Zambia, Benin, Gabon, Congo, Mauritania, Niger, Kenya and Libya, who are seeded teams of level 2.


In pot 3, Madagascar, Zimbabwe, central Africa, Namibia, Sierra Leone, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Angola, Malawi, Togo, Sudan and Tanzania, constitute the block of teams seeded in level 3.


Pot 4 is made up of Burundi, Rwanda, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Lesotho, Botswana, Comoros and Ethiopia as seeded teams of level 4.


The 5th pot has Liberia, Mauritius, Gambia, South Sudan, Chad, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles and Djibouti, as level 5 seeded Teams.


The draw will see fours teams drawn into 12 groups ( Group A to L). The first two teams in each group at the end of the qualifying round, will qualify for the 33rd edition of the AFCON.

Cameroon will host the competition for the first time since 1972 (49 years) – when only eight competed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here