2019 Future Champions Gauteng International Tournament: NPFL All Stars Listed For Youth Competition


Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) All Stars have been listed as one of the 12 teams to participate in the 2019 Future Champions Gauteng International Tournament.

The tournament will take place at the Nike Football Training Centre in Pimville, Soweto from 25th to 30th March as the best of local and international talent goes on display.

The Future Champions Gauteng International Tournament is the continued celebration of excellence in the Under-17 age group as teams from all over the world vie for the coveted trophy.

It will be the second time that the NPFL All Stars will compete on South African soil

NPFL All Stars finished second behind Atletico Madrid in 2017, but having had a taste of what to expect from the highly-competitive Future Champions Gauteng International Tournament, will want to improve on that showing.

The 2017 tournament produced the likes of Mohammed Galadima and Nazifi Yahaya.

Defending champions Club Brugge from Belgium return to have another shot at the prestigious title having beaten Dutch side ADO Den Haag in the 2018 final.

Organised by Global Sports International, in partnership with the Gauteng Provincial Government, the tournament will feature four local sides and eight teams from four different continents around the world.

The three Gauteng clubs, who earned their place in the tournament after qualifying from the Future Champions Gauteng Cup, are Bidvest Wits, Orlando Pirates FC and Kaizer Chiefs, who all return for a second successive year.

They will be joined by a SAFA Gauteng invitational side made up of other players who excelled at the Gauteng Cup.

The quartet are joined by an exceptional international field that featured defending champions Club Brugge (Belgium), RCD Espanyol de Barcelona (Spain), Reggio Audace (Italy), Spartak FC (Russia), Club Tijuana (Mexico) and a side from the All India Football Federation.

The final two overseas entrants are Beijing Sinobo Guoan FC (China) and a Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) All Stars.

The teams will be drawn into four groups each containing three sides and will play each other in a round-robin format, with the top teams in each pool advancing to the semi-finals.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here